The Supervisory Board welcomes new members

On 1 October 2022, Marinda Verhoeven and Pieter Siebinga will be instated as new members of the Supervisory Board of the Creative Industries Fund NL by the State Secretary for Culture and Media, Gunay Uslu.

22 September 2022

The Fund is managed by a Board which is, in turn, monitored by a Supervisory Board. Together, the members of the Supervisory Board represent a broad knowledge of society, the national and international design field, cultural entrepreneurship, finance, legal affairs and corporate governance. The role of the Supervisory Board is to supervise the Board’s policy, the general course of affairs at the Fund and to advise the Board.

new members
Pieter Siebinga is an experienced director, adviser and supervisor in the field of fund management in, among others, the cultural sector. After a career as a banker, he was the director of Stichting Nationaal Restauratiefonds [National Restoration Fund foundation] for nearly twenty years. In the last couple of years, he has been acting as interim director of the Fonds Cultuur+Financiering [Culture+Finance Fund], which is part of the Fonds Cultuur+Ondernemen [Culture+Entrepreneurship Fund]. Siebinga fulfils various supervisory roles in the field of historical monument site preservation, including at Utrechts Monumentenfonds [Utrecht Monument Fund] and Stichting Olympisch Stadion Amsterdam [Amsterdam Olympic Stadium Foundation] and he has also been an adviser, amongst other things, to the Council for Culture. As a director and supervisor he has a very thorough knowledge of and experience in the fields of finance and cultural governance.

Marinda Verhoeven is the headmistress of HKU Design (Utrecht). After a career as a graphic designer, she made the switch to education, first at AKV Sint Joost and from 2014 at HKU in various leading roles. She is a member of the board of OBK (the national network of university of applied science degree programmes for Visual Arts and Design), Gemeenschapsfonds Schiedam [Schiedam Municipal Fund], Stichting Winterlicht and a member of the Supervisory Board of Stichting Spieringshoek. As a former independent designer and headmistress, she has the requisite know-how and experience in the fields of cultural entrepreneurship, design education and talent development.

Supervisory Board
The Supervisory Board consists of five members, and besides chair Yasemin Tümer (owner and director of Ryt Holding BV, advice and investments in good governance and diversity, member of the National Police Unit advisory committee and chair of the Advisory Board of the Central Agency for the Reception of Asylum Seekers, along with a number of other roles), is made up of Natalie Holwijn (director of Etnische Zaken Vrouwen Nederland [Netherlands Ethnic Business Women], and chair of the Stichting Kunstzinnige Vorming Rotterdam [Rotterdam Foundation for Education in the Arts], among other things) and Tom Frantzen (founder and director of FRANTZEN et al. architecten).

As their second and last term has come to an end, Femke den Boer and Jules van de Vijver will leave the Fund’s Supervisory Board on 1 October 2022. Both have worked for the Fund for eight years with great commitment and dedication, for which the Fund would like to thank them warmly.

The Supervisory Board’s powers, tasks, working method and composition can be found here.